What Did You Do Today To Prepare?

March 21, 2009

I haven’t posted an update in a few weeks, so here goes:

  • Continued working out an hour a day, every day
  • For the past two weekends, hiked 8-mile-long trails
  • Re-packed the “go” bag after the most recent backpacking trip
  • Renewed my fishing license and trout permit

I feel bad about my monetary preparedness. I have no credit card debt. After eight more payments, the car will be paid for. I have a savings account, a small emergency fund, and some silver. I’m not falling behind, but I’m not getting ahead, either. I _really_ wanted to buy some silver on this pay check, especially after hearing that the Fed has decided to monetize the debt to the tune of 1 trillion dollars, which, despite what Jim Cramer said today, is pretty alarming news. However, I had my 6-month car insurance to pay, and I didn’t want to dip into the ready cash. Maybe next paycheck–with luck silver prices may have dipped again by then. It just feels like time is running out and the incompetents in charge are making things worse and worse. I must do better on improving my financial cushion–the crippling tax increases are coming.

One thing that may help that is my garden. Started work on my community garden plots today. They’re organic, and I only use heirloom seeds (I wonder what the First Lady would think if she knew an evil right-winger like myself had been organically gardening for years, while she and her workforce of grade school students just started). Heirloom seeds are open-pollinated, which means you can save the seeds and re-plant in later seasons. You can’t do that with hybrid seeds. I recommend Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.

I’ll double-dig the beds and get the peas in tomorrow. Need to get the tomatoes and peppers started under the grow light. What’s in the garden this year? Glad you asked:

  • Cosmic purple carrots
  • White carrots
  • Laxton’s Progress peas
  • Henderson’s “Crimson Cushion” red tomatoes
  • Thai yellow egg eggplants
  • Echinacea
  • Chinese red noodle beans
  • Black Beauty zucchini
  • Mini bell peppers
  • Devil’s ears lettuce
  • Rattlesnake pole beans

And the Democrats can feel free to keep their intrusive mitts out of my food production facility.

Leave a Reply

