Thanks, Giving

November 27, 2008

Spending a few days in an undisclosed location with my family. From where I’m blogging I can look into the kitchen–mom’s got the following going: Turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, Watergate salad, cranberry chutney, rolls, and pumpkin cheesecake and cherry pie for dessert. Two of my brothers are here, as well as my sister-in-law. We, and dad, are all healthy and employed. We won the lottery before we ever knew it by being born into the greatest country in the world. We are far from rich, but read about that feast we’re about to have–millions of families in this country are about to enjoy the same. Our good fortune is immense, regardless of politics or economy. I am so thankful for my country, my family, and my friends. I wish them all happiness, and all strength in their adversities. I am thankful to God for the many blessings this country offers. We are all so very fortunate.

Plus, his confident smile and kind eyes are an inspiration to us all (oh, you didn’t think I’d let a day go by without politics, did you?). If a Secret Santa does not get me this priceless collector’s plate, I intend to be very disappointed.

Vital stats: I saw gas prices in St. Louis at $1.38 a gallon (!) before I left town. Paid $1.70 in the boonies; Dow closed up 247 to 8726 yesterday (down 902 points since Obama’s election); silver is at $10.17 an ounce

One Response to “Thanks, Giving”

  1. Bonnie said

    Well said, girl. I’m glad you had a nice Thanksgiving, and those of us in the US do indeed have much to be thankful for, despite trying times for some folks.

    Gas was about the same in Memphis and Arkansas as it was in your boonie area. I paid $1.37 in St. Louis before I left town on Wednesday and $1.69 when I filled up in Tennessee to head back.

Leave a Reply

