Into the Blue Again, After the Money’s Gone…

November 18, 2008

Good Lord, I’ve been serious lately. I’m really a pretty light-hearted person–not a “face without pain or fear or guilt,” as Rand calls it, but pretty laid back. Here’s a bit of a change-up.

I was reading James Lileks’ blog today, where he mentioned his screedblog. I went over to read it, and it was about David Byrne being a raving Obamaton of the “You’re-all-racists-if-you-didn’t-vote-for-him” ilk. I had no idea David Byrne wasn’t American. Go figure, and he’s apparently a bit of a douchebag, but these things happen.

I love the Talking Heads. Which leads to this entry. I joke with my friends about bands that would lock themselves up if they knew a knuckle-dragging right-winger like myself was a fan. These are bands that wear their politics on their sleeves; I assume most bands are lefty, these ones are open about it, yet I still find myself liking them:

  • Talking Heads
  • Peter Gabriel
  • k.d. lang
  • Elvis Costello
  • Indigo Girls
  • Pet Shop Boys
  • Public Enemy
  • Moby
  • B-52s
  • Billy Bragg (seriously)
  • REM

That last one’s kind of a funny one. I was an intolerable lefty in college. The editor of the campus conservative paper lived in my dorm. I walked past the door once, and REM was blaring out. I asked the conservative–“you know they’re huge lefties, right?” and the editor answered “Of course, I just like the music, I don’t get my politics from them.” Wise person. These folks are all fine musicians, I just put their politics out of my mind.

Vital stats:Dow down 224 to 8274. That’s down 1354 since Mr. Obama’s election. Gas is $1.76 a gallon. Silver down $0.06 to $9.31 an ounce.

One Response to “Into the Blue Again, After the Money’s Gone…”

  1. Bonnie said

    Capitalism is killing music. 🙂

Leave a Reply

