People don’t like to be meddled with. We tell them what to do, what to think, don’t run, don’t walk. We’re in their homes and in their heads and we haven’t the right. We’re meddlesome.

October 31, 2008

A couple of good days at the Gulch. Had visitors, including my brother. Nice dinner at PF Chang’s. As intended, I missed the Messiah’s sermon to his people. Apparently a lot of folks did.

Today’s statistics: Dow up 190 to 9181. Gas $2.25 a gallon. Silver down $.12 to $9.77 an ounce.

Yesterday: Dow down 75 to 8990. Gas $2.29 a gallon. Silver up $1.10 to $9.89.

No one can TALK to each other any more. I was talking to a guy tonight abut taxes, and I could tell he saw the basic point of not taxing the folks who work for a living and create the jobs too onerously, but he went back to “It’ll be okay,” and “They can afford it.” Part of it was just trying to get a rise; I don’t know how much he actually believed. 

And, obviously, close to 50% of the population thinks this way.

Let’s be clear–I’m not rich. If Obama were telling the truth, I would be one of the people who would be receiving some of that redistributed wealth. I don’t WANT it. I don’t want to receive stolen property. It’s not mine; I didn’t earn it. If the government can confiscate the wealth of people wealthier than I, then eventually than can confiscate mine too. Hopefully it’s a moot point, because I think Obama will lose, and if he wins, I think EVERYONE who pays taxes will see a pretty severe hike.

I post this stuff for my information, to read it later. I’m not going to bother recouping Obama’s many flaws–Khalidi, Rezko, Ayers, Wright, Pfleger, Dohrn, Said, Frank Marshall Davis, ACORN, gun grabbing, the Infants Born Alive Protection Act, cutting off funding to the troops. None of it seems to matter to people. So let’s just go with this week. Obama has been blacklisting media outlets that ask Biden difficult questions. Today Obama called people who don’t want to pay onerous taxes “greedy.” The LA Times has a video of Obama at a 2003 gathering to celebrate Khalidi–Ayers and Dohrn were there too. The LA Times refuses to release the tape. Ask yourself–if they had a tape of McCain at a Klan rally or a tape of government secrets, would they have released it? You bet. I heard today on the radio that Obama has indicated that if he is elected, he will name Rahm Emanuel as his chief of staff. Rahm’s currently busy trying to save the career of Florida Democrat congressman Tim Mahoney, who was paying off one of his lovers. Change!

I don’t understand why this election’s even close. McCain’s a deeply flawed candidate, and also essentially a Democrat, but Obama is just such an obvious nightmare. I wish I understood what was happening.

Oh well, I suspect that the silent majority is going to say something during the only poll that matters next Tuesday. May they speak loud and clear. If McCain wins, I’m going to drink Maker’s Mark and pretend it’s Keith Olbermann’s tears.

Get out and vote, and, oh yeah…

Vote NO on Missouri Proposition C

Leave a Reply

