Chapter X–Wyatt’s Torch

October 27, 2008

Another good day at the Gulch. Rested, read (Atlas Shrugged is a remarkably fast read for being approximately 5000 pages long), brought in the rest of the amaranth. I also went late to the shooting range.

I couldn’t get a lane–there were THAT many people lined up there for practice. Women, men, parents with kids. Did my heart good; I was never so happy to not be able to get in somewhere. These bitter clingers are going to be among those who defeat Barack Obama and Joe the Dumber Biden at the ballot box.

Settled in now, flipping between Dave Ramsey and Game 4 of the World Series. I’ll have guests on the 29th so I won’t be able to live-blog the Messiah’s address to the nation. However, just for my own interest, I will live-blog election night here. I expect trouble in St. Louis–minor trouble if Obama wins, possible major trouble if he loses. After I vote Tuesday, I’m removing the bumper sticker, putting the car in the garage, and keeping an ear on the local media and my walkie-talkie radios. I hope I’m wrong. Still, the media have been biased to such an insane degree this election cycle that if the Messiah doesn’t win, I expect people will feel it’s been “stolen” from him. I didn’t have a dog in the fight in 2000–I voted Libertarian in a red state. I preferred W to Gore, but not enough to actually vote for him. During the crisis in Florida, I was convinced, though, that Bush had won and Gore was trying to steal the election. There were hard feelings over that election. How much harder will they be if people have been duped by the media to believe Obama was inevitable, only to have him lose?

Rand of the Day (Ivy Starnes is explaining her “enlightened” business management philosophy to a suitably appalled Dagny Taggart): Our plan? We put into practice that noble historical precept: From each according to his ability, to each according to his need. Everybody in the factory from charwomen to president, received the same salary–the barest minimum necessary. Twice a year, we all gathered in a mass meeting, where every person presented his claim for what he believed to be his needs. We voted on every claim, and the will of the majority established every person’s need and every person’s ability. The income of the factory was distributed accordingly. Rewards were based on need, and the penalties on ability. Those whose needs were voted to be the greatest, received the most. Those who had not produced as much as the vote said they could, were fined and had to pay the fines by working overtime without pay. That was our plan. It was based on the principle of selflessness. It required men to be motivated, not by personal gain, but by love of their brothers.

Is Ivy Starnes one of Obama’s 300 advisers? Given his reply to Joe the Plumber, it looks like they both got their ideas from the same guy–Karl Marx.

Vote NO on Missouri Proposition C

Leave a Reply

